Welcome to Bentinck Primary & Nursery School. Together we make a difference. We Start back to school on Wednesday 20th April 2022

EYFS Curriculum Information

EYFS Curriculum

At Bentinck we encourage active learning to ensure the children are motivated and interested to engage and learn. We take time to get to know children’s interests and their likes to support their learning. We strive so support our children to develop strong characteristics of effective learning so that they can become lifelong learners. The 3 effective characteristics are;

  • Playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’
  • Active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achieving
  • Creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing so.


At Bentinck all areas of the EYFS requirements are planned for to ensure there is a broad, balanced and progressive learning environment and curriculum for all children. We want all the children in our care to learn new skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate understanding through the seven areas of learning in the EYFS curriculum;

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

There are 3 prime areas of learning and these are the main focus for learning in the Nursery. These areas underpin and support everything that the children will go on to learn in the Reception year. There are then 4 specific areas of learning which become the focus in the Reception class. The children will be taught a range of skills and knowledge which they will then be expected to apply independently within their learning environment; both indoors and outdoors.

Curriculum Areas